Hard Lessons

Have I ever mentioned that I have a tendency  to learn my lessons that hard way? So yesterday, I had a good day at work (read no nibbling) and made the mistake of picking up some irish soda bread on the way home (Yum!!) Not the worse thing in the world, but it doesn’t stop there. Today I picked up the smoked gouda potato chips my coworker told me about (super yum!) My son and I finished the bag as well as the bread:/ THEN I went to zumba…and it stunk! I cramped up, was tired, just didn’t have fun like I normally do. I’m thinking that if this is how most people feel when they work out, I don’t blame them for not wanting to!!!!!

The sad thing is I keep telling myself that I need to do a cleanse (or detox whatevs.) I’ve made up my own food based detox. I eat strictly fruits and veggies for 3 days then fast for a day, then add in super nutritious foods like nuts, seeds, yogurt (homemade, not the sugar laden store bought stuff) and the like. I’ve done it a couple of times but it’s hard. I think I’m a high protein type and I feel like I’m starving the whole 4 days. I was planning on doing it this week starting today and I failed miserably on the first day:(

I did have a thought that may help me in the future. I’m going to think about this blog and remember that if I fail, I will have to announce it to the world (all 2 of you who care hehe.) But also, if I succeed, I will be able to declare victory to my adoring fans (hehehe!)

I’m also toying with the ideas of pictures, but I don’t like to get them taken! The funny thing is I’m a performer who can get on stage and sing, dance, whatever, yet I’m cameral shy…go figure!

Anyway, if you can relate, perhaps a word of advise or encouragement? I know it’s about the journey and it’s always better shared!

 

2 thoughts on “Hard Lessons

  1. I hear ya because I can’t over look Irish soda bread! Very yummy. I’ve been wanting to detox. With my usual carb and protein laden diet, I too feel like i’m starving. But thanks for reminding me because I conveniently forgot. So let me encourage you on your journey as you have just encouraged me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

