Double ride!!

So on Thur. I was thrilled that I got to go on my first ride of the season!! It was beautiful! The weather was perfect, the trail was fabulous, I couldn’t have asked for a better time! Then yesterday, I realized that my son wouldn’t have time to go to our normal swimming session, so I decided to ride again! It was a little warmer, and this time I had worked 9 hours already so it wasn’t quite as easy, but still fun!!!

Now this morning my butt hurts a little (it did yesterday too!) but I feel pretty good other than that! Today is my day off so I can recover anyway. I was thinking about going tomorrow, but it’s supposed to rain. We may go swimming instead.

OK, let’s do an exercise myth. Myth # 3: The more the better. Unless you want to be an endurance athlete, you don’t need to spend much time exercising at all. As a matter of fact, too much is bad and stressful on your body. Those who seem in tiptop shape can be just as much at risk as those who don’t take care of themselves at all (think joggers who drop dead of heart attacks!) Once you get yourself moving (cause that is the important part,) you don’t need to overdo it. Getting 1 or 2 HIIT sessions a week (10-20 minutes a piece,) and 1-2 other fun activities (just to keep you moving, known as active recovery,) is really all it takes. It’s more important that you don’t ever sit for extended periods of time. This will basically undo all your hard work!

What fun activities do you do to keep yourself motivated? I also enjoy hiking, boating, skating…I think I could go on and on!!

4 thoughts on “Double ride!!

  1. Hi,
    I met you at Danny’s Meet & Greet. Maybe you can check out my blog if you need a blogging tip or two. That’s what I write about.
    In response to your post, great news!
    I rarely exercise. Always blogging!!
    Janice

    Like

  2. I like walking and now that the weather is getting warmer, I think I’ll get my butt out there too and walk. I moved here 1-1/2 years ago and my goal was to live in this town…now that I’m here I should go out and explore it more! I do have a 9-5 desk job but I am popping up and down all day long so I don’t necessarily sit for long extended periods of time, but I do need to incorporate more “exercise” into my daily regimen. Thanks for sharing the motivation…and enjoy those bike rides!! Swimming is great exercise as well… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I started out walking! It’s great cause it doesn’t cost anything, it’s easy, and the view can be pretty good depending on where you are! One of the reasons I like my job so much is that I don’t sit or stand at all. I’m on my feet moving around the whole time. The thing that really got my metabolism moving was lifting. I keep thinking I need to get back into that!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

