The Thanksgiving Hurdle!

So in the weeks leading up to the big holiday, I found myself joining the junk food junkies in my home in their indulgences. About a week before, I decided to make a concerted effort to correct myself. As a matter of fact, not only did I minimize junk food in particular, but I also brought my total intake down dramatically. The result? At the big feast, I loaded up my plate the way I usually do and could only eat half of it!!! I had successfully shrunk my stomach!

The next day, I freely enjoyed the leftovers of the festivities, but the day after that I started my detox. I was so motivated, that I extended my fast almost another whole day (I had a piece of fresh baked bread that evening!) The result? I lost 5+ pounds!!! Now I know that generally speaking, this isn’t healthy or sustainable. But I think sometimes it’s necessary to do something dramatic to propel ourselves in the right direction.

I still want to lose 5 more lbs., but it will take significantly longer! I’m not one to do the “diet” thing, I an however amping up my exercise program (which had petered out significantly in the last couple of months.)

So how was your Thanksgiving? Are you doing anything to recover from it?

One thought on “The Thanksgiving Hurdle!

Leave a Reply

